Over the last few weeks, I have been trained to monitor the Dark Bordered Beauty moth on Strensall Common

Just before the heatwave started, Terry Crawford walked us round the transect once again. Despite the rain, we saw a few nice moths including this Grass Wave.

IMG_8731

IMG_8728

 

Then, two weeks ago (6th July), I tried walking the transect on my own. It was warm, and despite no DBBs, I did see some nice insects.

IMG_8872

 

This is an area of heath that was burned accidentally a couple of years back and used to be a DBB hotspot.

IMG_8876

 

This is a Pebble Hook Tip

IMG_8877

 

Spider webs stretched over the grass.

IMG_8878

Small Heaths were out.

IMG_8879

This is an ichneumonid of some kind.

IMG_8880

 

You can see the heather regenerating.

IMG_8881

 

This is the caterpillar of the Emperor Moth

IMG_8882

 

 

IMG_8884

 

Also out were large skippers.

IMG_8887

 

A four spotted chaser

IMG_8900

 

And the first ringlets. This one has a damaged wing but could fly well.

IMG_8901

 

This is the last bit of the transect on the YWT reserve. IMG_8905

 

Where I found a Silver Hook.

The next week, on 13th, was also successful. Terry and Penny had seen DBBs the day before, so I was hoping to see some too, with Tallulah.

IMG_8909

 

This is a Straw Dot.

And then Tallulah spotted what I thought was a DBB. We followed it for about five minutes, flying strongly about waist height around the heath. Then it suddenly hovered frenetically over a grass tussock, and dived into it. When we had caught up, we saw it in copula with a female: a rare sight.

IMG_8914

 

We quickly saw seven more DBBs. However, they were too active and I couldn’t photograph them. I did however get a Clouded Buff a bit later on.

IMG_8898

 

And then another male DBB, which after much chasing, did settle in a photogenic position.

IMG_8929

 

The work goes on. I wonder what the next trip will bring.

 

